Table of Contents

RHCSA Background Info
Course Materials
Reasonable Expectations
Course Schedule

RHCSA Background Info

This class is an entry level Linux System Administration course, and is designed to be followed by the RHCE course. This course we will explore many in depth aspects of System Administration applied to an operable Linux system using the RHCSA & RHCE Exam Requirements as a framework. Upon completion of this course, students will have been exposed to a system of study that will give them the tools and opportunity to continue preparing for the RHCSA exam. The course will be primarily focused on extensive use of the command line with the rich set of tools provided in a native Linux environment. For more information about this course, please see the ACC Continuing Education Linux Courses or the RHCSA Course Syllabus .

Audience Top of Page

Students who are interested in this class should have a) completed the LPIC Series, and/or b) have 1 year Linux administration experience. Contact the instructor if you have questions.

Course Materials Top of Page

The required book for this course is Red Hat RHCSA/RHCE 7 Cert Guide . There's an optional book as well: RHCE/RHCSA Training & Exam Prep Guide .

Reasonable Expectations Top of Page

The framework of this course is structured such that students will be exposed to material that is outlined in the Red Hat RHCSA Exam objectives. Upon successful completion of the course, the student should be capable of continuing study for the exam as well as knowing which areas that need to be strengthened in order to take the exam.

Course Schedule Top of Page

Listed below is an outline of the material that we will attempt to cover in the class sections as indicated.

[Note] This is a Rough Estimate Only

Please note that this schedule may shift. The dates and chapters indicated are an estimate only

  1. Class #1: October 31 - Chapter 1, 2, 3, & 4
  2. Class #2: November 2 - Chapter 5, 6, & 7
  3. Class #3: November 7 - Chapter 8, 9, & 10
  4. Class #4: November 9 - Chapter 11, 12, & 13
  5. Class #5: November 14 - Chapter 14, 15, & 16
  6. Class #6: November 16 - Chapter 17, 18, & 19
  7. Class #7: November 21 - Chapter 20, 21, & 22
  8. Class #8: November 23 - Chapter 23, 24 & catch up